Never ending wake up call

Have your say
Bamboo

Never ending wake up call

Post by Bamboo »

I am trying to let go but it’s so hard, my sons addiction has permanently damaged his bladder and he has pee into a bag on his leg.. no stopping. Then last year the bomb , he has been diagnosed With heart failure and needs a heart transplant. You would thing this would stop him , no still continues.
He had to go into hospital this weekend due to heart condition, he now has had 2 covd tests first positive second negative. He was discharged today but couldn’t wait for discharge paperwork.. he said he was desperate for a Mac Donald’s!
I contacted the hospital to clarify what was needed due to a positive the negative covd test. They said he should isolate for 14 days to be safe, but his gone out.
I have sent away for home testing for the rest of my family. How do we isolate from him? When will he stop or what will make him stop.
Sorry this is my first time at admitting his addiction after 5 years of trying to take control, defend him and believe him.. it’s so hard to cut my ties as he lives with us.
LM66

Re: Never ending wake up call

Post by LM66 »

Hi Bamboo
I so wish I could give you some magic advice to make this go away.
How do we get them to stop? Simple answer is, we can't. They won't stop until they are ready to - if that ever happens. Like many others, Ive flogged myself into the ground trying to "fix" my son - to no avail. We only end up making ourselves ill and skint.
We can't make anyone change, or prevent what they do. However, we can prevent them doing it in our home. Addiction will affect everyone else in the home, so you have to protect them and yourself.
Due to your son being unwell, I can imagine it makes it more difficult for some decisions.