Is it possible to trust again?

Have your say
MarinaNa

Is it possible to trust again?

Post by MarinaNa »

Hello to everyone! I am new to this all. I have never thought that I would have to deal with anything like that.
Around 10 months ago I met a wonderful guy online, he and I are from different countries. He is from the UK and I am from Ukraine. I was suffering from a very painful break up and besides that I finally started feeling good after coping with anxiety and panic attacks. This guy was just perfect, I have never felt so much care. And yes, even if we have never met each other in real (we would if not this Covid) I felt that he can be that one.

He was open about having depression in the past and I was ok with that since I know what it is to suffer from mental health problems. In some time he started having problems with losing work due to Covid, having lots of stress. He said he has bad depression and I was trying to be there for him. But he was isolating, avoiding communication and saying that its all due to depression and I shouldnt take it all personally. I knew that something was wrong: he has lost weight, didnt look good, had lots of sleeping problems and financial problems.

And finally when I asked him several days ago if everything is ok, he has opened up and told me that he is using drugs. I was shocked. I have never even tried to smoke, never used any drugs. And now this. I couldnt believe it. But he said he wants to stop doing it (he was taking cocaine, tried it 5 years ago and used it when his depression was bad. Then he stopped it and didnt take anything for two years).

He is having drug debts and his mother refused to help him. She just has blocked him. She was helping him in the past. His parents are divorced.
He tells me that he wants to stop doing it, he has made a referral to the drug counselling. He is going to start it but only in 2 weeks or so. He says he cant buy any drugs even if he would want it, because he is in debt.