Am I being unreasonable?

Have your say

Am I being unreasonable?

Post by 2605 »

Hello everyone, I’m new to families anonymous after finding information on line when looking for help advice and maybe some answers dealing with being the wife of an addict

My husband and I have been together for almost 19 years, married for 17 it’s not always been easy we’ve had ups and downs like any relationship but in oct 2020 we separated as he admitted he was heavily in debt, at the time saying he had a gambling addiction.

Shortly afterwards it came to the light via information from a “friend” the real reason for the debt was drug use - cocaine and alcohol, after admitting the true reasons for the debt my husband reached out to narcotics anonymous and got help initially we remained separated but we have a son together and 2 step children and through counselling separately at first, and then as couple we started to live together again after an 8 month separation.

My husband is now 12 months clean and I couldn’t be prouder of him it’s been really hard work and I’m trying so hard to support him, he attends regular NA meetings and recently shared on his group and the share was recorded he sent me the recording as he thought I’d be interested to listen.

I’ll be honest hearing his frank honesty was so painful, hearing him talk about his drug use in this meeting in such an honest way was like a knife to my heart because he’s never been that honest with me. He talked about having 5-6 hour binges whilst I was at work during lockdown with my son in the house about the drug use being an issue for 20 years.

I know he has an addiction problem but now I’m questioning everything we’ve ever done everywhere we’ve ever been “was he using this day?” “is this why he had mood swings?” is this why he left this job?” “who’s he using with?”